Beautiful magnetic “pins” now available!

Just listed – eight sets of magnetic “pins” topped with sparkling glass drops. Each set includes three pair (two matching and one in a complementary color) and comes with a snapping hair clip for additional use options. An organizer card and storage bag is also included. (Click on the pictures to be taken to each specific listing.)

These pins were inspired by the many pagans in my life who head cover for religious reasons. Watching them deal with the negative reactions within and without their faith communities has been uplifting and challenging. Challenging because our faith communities should celebrate our expressions of devotion and fidelity; uplifting because these people have remained strong in the face of criticism. Simply speaking my support didn’t feel adequate. I want to offer something meaningful that, I hope, will serve you well as you explore the many expressions of head covering and modest dress available to you.

Whether you veil occasionally or frequently, as a matter of habit or as the need strikes, you deserve to feel confident and empowered. Beautiful accessories can help bring this about.

Head covering for religious, emotional, or sartorial reasons is a practice people of all genders have adopted in many places, at many times. Covering the head or hair carries many messages; these little pins can help you express exactly the message you wish to convey.

Each pin consists of two paired magnets capped with pearlized glass drops. These magnets easily stick to many metal hair accessories. Use one half of a pair for extra security at these points or experiment with hidden clips like the one pictured for additional style options. 

These magnetic pins are 1cm wide. If you would like a different size or a different style of magnetic pin, just send me a message. I’d love to help you create something special.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beautiful magnetic “pins” now available!

  1. Lithel says:

    What a neat idea! I’ll have to grab a set of these at some point.

    • Silence says:

      It was very exciting to discover that these were a thing. I found some magnets that are surprisingly strong for their size. I got them to stick firmly through a thickness of 1/4″. There was an odd pair out and I’m keeping it to secure the wrap that I frequently wear.

  2. These are awesome! I may have to pick some up for my veil I use for ritual eventually. I miss covering full time.

    • Silence says:

      I’m glad you like them! There’s an odd pair out that I’ve kept for myself; I wear a pashmina-style wrap to work most days and a pin is going to be a big help keeping it in place. It’s been a long time since I did any veil work but I still have the black silk cloth I used and it’ll be nice to have a good way to secure it next time. I remember always getting interrupted in my meditation, etc. to fix the thing.

  3. Wonderful! As a belly dancer who has worked with veils for many years, and as a Pagan monastic who also occasionally covers her head for religious reasons, how is it that I had never heard of such a thing as magnetic veil pins until now?! I have all kinds of notes and photos in my “religious garb ideas” folder, and I’ve done lots of Googling using terms like “scarf pins” and such, but magnets…it just makes such perfect sense. Happy to hear that these exist, and even happier to see how gorgeous you’ve made them. When my budget permits – and I hope that will be in the not-too-distant future – I will be contacting you about a custom order for these and also for prayer beads.

    • Silence says:

      Right?? I’ve worked as a professional costumer/specialty clothing maker, I’ve done loads of theater, I have a background in dance, and I’m simply amazed that I have never encountered such an obvious solution. I used to do a regular ritual veiling practice and found it to be exceptionally effective even without knowing how to fix the thing so it’d stay on. I have one pin pair that I’m keeping for myself and they’re going to be very useful the next time this practice comes up; I’ve got this big square of wispy silk that’s so delicate I’ve been reluctant to use it.

      And certainly, I’d love to make something special for you. If you would like sets with gemstones/semi-precious stones there’s oodles out there to choose from. Glass and acrylic are also easily obtained; wood is a little harder but with some looking I could probably find something. I can also make decorative elements out of Sculpey or Fimo and adhere those to a magnet; there’s quite a bit of design flexibility to work with.

Leave a Reply

